Integrity Care director Amy June Collins admitted drug use and gambling tied to care before Ann Marie Smith’s death
Coveragetap to expand ▾Spectrum: Center Only🌍Asia: 1
- Amy June Collins admitted on a listening device that she had a drug problem while a director of Integrity Care SA (per abc.net.au).
- Collins admitted on the same recording that she withdrew company funds for gambling while serving as a director (per abc.net.au).
- Integrity Care SA provided the care that preceded the April 2020 death of Ann Marie Smith (per abc.net.au).
- Collins is awaiting sentencing and has a District Court appearance scheduled in October (per abc.net.au).
Amy June Collins admitted on a covertly recorded listening device that she had a drug problem and that she withdrew company funds for gambling while serving as a director of Integrity Care SA, the organisation tied to the care that preceded the April 2020 death of Ann Marie Smith (per abc.net.au).
Those admissions formed part of evidence that led Collins to plead guilty to a category one charge of reckless conduct; she is now awaiting sentencing and must appear in the District Court in October (per abc.net.au).
The broadcaster reports the recording directly linked Collins’s personal substance use and gambling with misappropriation of company funds during her tenure at Integrity Care SA (per abc.net.au).
Prosecutors characterized the conduct as reckless and grave enough to warrant the top category of charge in the case; Collins’s guilty plea short-circuited a contested hearing and moves the matter toward sentencing (per abc.net.au).
Family members of Ann Marie Smith and advocates for aged-care victims have sought accountability in cases where provider conduct and oversight fail vulnerable clients, and this guilty plea will focus attention on corporate governance at small care providers like Integrity Care SA (per abc.net.au).
Collins’s scheduled District Court appearance in October will determine her sentence and any orders to recover funds or bar her from governance roles; until then the factual record rests on the admitted statements captured on the listening device and the court filings that record the guilty plea (per abc.net.au).
- - Families of aged-care residents bear concrete costs: Ann Marie Smith’s family experienced the death linked to care overseen by Integrity Care SA, and other clients could face harm when directors divert funds or fail oversight (per abc.net.au). - Integrity Care SA’s residents face reduced protections when directors misuse company funds; the specific mechanism is withdrawal of company funds for gambling, which directly reduces resources available for care (per abc.net.au). - Regulators and prosecutors benefit from documented admissions on the listening device because such evidence produced a guilty plea to a category one charge, strengthening the case for sentencing and possible governance sanctions (per abc.net.au).
Whether the District Court imposes a custodial sentence, fines, orders to repay funds, or a ban on governance roles at Collins’s October appearance (per abc.net.au). 2) Whether prosecutors or state regulators seek civil recovery of withdrawn funds or broader sanctions against Integrity Care SA after sentencing (per abc.net.au). 3) Whether family members of Ann Marie Smith pursue separate civil action tied to the care leading to her April 2020 death (per abc.net.au).
- Only one source is available (abc.net.au); no alternative framings from other outlets are present to compare.
- The exact amount of company funds withdrawn for gambling is not specified in the source and therefore remains unverified (per abc.net.au).
- No source text provided the precise amount of funds withdrawn for gambling.
- No source text explained what specific care failures occurred immediately before Ann Marie Smith’s April 2020 death.
- No source text mentioned any regulatory investigations, reports, or prior warnings involving Integrity Care SA before the guilty plea.
- No source text detailed whether Integrity Care SA is still operating or its current management arrangements.
- No differing numerical figures appear across sources; the single source did not provide amounts withdrawn or sentencing timelines beyond 'October' for the court appearance (per abc.net.au).
- The source links Collins’s admissions to misconduct while director and those admissions to care that preceded Ann Marie Smith’s April 2020 death, but it does not specify a direct legal finding that the withdrawals caused the death (per abc.net.au).
- The source attributes the admissions to a listening device recording and attributes the guilty plea to Collins herself (per abc.net.au).
